Search Input

Fire Commissioners

The affairs of the Spokane Valley Fire Department are managed by the Board of Fire Commissioners.  The board is composed of five members, and holds regular meetings on the second and fourth Mondays of the month at Spokane Valley Fire Department Administration Building, 2120 N Wilbur Rd, Spokane, Wa 99206.

Board of Fire Commissioners


Commissioner Joe Dawson

Board Member Since 1/1/1998
Current six year term expires 12/31/2021

Commissioner Dawson is a former educator. He retired after 38 years as a teacher, principal, and district administrator in the West Valley School District. 


Commissioner Ron Schmidt

Board Member Since 1/1/1990
Current six year term expires 12/31/2019

Commissioner Schmidt has served as a Fire District Commissioner since 1990. He is also a long-standing member of the Board of Directors for Educational Service District (ESD) 101, serving since 1971. Schmidt retired as the Dean of Trade Industrial Apprenticeships with Spokane Community College.


Commissioner Bill Anderson

Board Member Since 1/1/2000
Current six year term expires 12/31/2017

Commissioner Anderson worked as a SVFD firefighter before he retired with 29 years of service to the community. He served four years on the West Valley School Board of Directors including one year as President. Commissioner Anderson has an AA in Fire Administration, an AA in Civil Engineering Technology from Spokane Community College, and a BA from Eastern Washington University.


Commissioner Kolby Hanson

Board Member Since 1/1/2002
Current six year term expires 12/31/2019
Resigned from Board 6/13/2016

Commissioner Kolby Hanson has served on the Board of Commissioners since 2002. He is a representative of Sheet Metal Workers Local 66 with an office in Spokane Valley. He also serves as vice-president of the N.E. Washington/ N. Idaho Building and Construction Trade Council, as well as sitting on the Washington State Building and Construction Trades Council AFL-CIO Executive Board. Commissioner Hanson has lived in the Spokane Valley since 1970.



Commissioner Mike Pearson

Board Member Since 12/10/2012
Current term expires 12/31/2021

Commissioner Mike Pearson was appointed to the Spokane Valley Fire Department Board of Fire Commissioners in 2012. After 31 years in public education, he retired in 2008 as the Superintendent of Central Valley School District. Mike Pearson was sworn in as a Fire Commissioner on December 10, 2012. He was re-elected to the six-year position in November 2015. 














Fire Commissioner Meetings
8/31/2016: Special Meeting, Agenda
8/22/2016: Agenda
8/19/2016: Agenda
8/8/2016: Agenda, Approved Minutes
7/27/2016: Special Meeting, Agenda, Approved Minutes
Page 1  of  43   First   Previous   [1]  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Next   Last  

Board of Fire Commissioner Rules

The board of fire commissioners is governed by Chapter 52.14 of the Revised Code of Washington (RCW)

RCW 52.14.010 sets for the number, qualifications and compensation for the board of fire commissioners.

The rule states: “The affairs of the district shall be managed by a board of fire commissioners composed of three registered voters residing in the district except as provided in RCW 52.14.015 and 52.14.020.”

The rule also details the rate of compensation for the board. At this time, the rate of compensation is $104 per day.  Earnings cannot exceed a set amount each year.  As of 2012, the yearly allowance for earnings is nine thousand nine hundred eighty-four dollars per year.  Board compensation is for time spent in actual attendance at official meetings of the board or in performance of other services or duties on behalf of the fire district.

The Chair of the board for Spokane Valley Fire Department assigns meeting attendance for the commissioners each year.

As the Spokane Valley Fire Department consists of a fire department of full-time, fully paid firefighters, RCW 52.14.020 determines the number of fire commissioners and states “there shall be five fire commissioners.”

Commissioner’s terms are set forth in RCW 52.14.060 for a period of six years.  Elections are held with the county auditor opening up a special filing period. The person who receives the greatest number of votes is elected to that position and takes the official oath of office at the first board meeting in January. The fire commissioners elect a chair from their members each year as provided in RCW 52.14.080.

The board holds regular meetings twice per month.  The meeting schedule for the board for Spokane Valley Fire Department is the second and fourth Monday of every month.  All of the meetings follow the open public meeting requirements.

Copyright © 2011, Spokane Valley Fire Department
Give Site Feedback
Connect with us:
right footer image

Mission: The Spokane Valley Fire Department prepares for and responds to emergencies protecting people, property, and the environment through a progressive and responsible approach to planning, education, and hazard prevention with a professionally trained, dedicated, and compassionate workforce.